British Open Round 1 Live Blog: News, tee times, TV/streaming, hole locations

The final major of 2019 begins Thursday morning well before the sun rises on the East Coast of the United States.

The British Open returns to Northern Ireland and a designed Royal Portrush Dunluce links course for the first time since 1951. Northern Ireland native and 2011 Champion Golfer of the Year Darren Clarke hits the opening tee shot, weather permitting, at 1:35 a.m. ET (6:35 a.m. local time) from No. 1.

Among the very big names to watch: Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, three-time Open champion Tiger Woods, two-time defending PGA Championship winner Brooks Koepka, a leaner-but-never-meaner Phil Mickelson and 2018 Champion Golfer of the Year Francesco Molinari.

Thursday’s notable groups and tee times include (all times Eastern):

  • Group 8 – 2:52 a.m. Mickelson, Shane Lowry, Branden Grace
  • Group 19 – 4:58 a.m. Molinari, Bryson DeChambeau, Adam Scott
  • Group 20 – 5:09 a.m. McIlroy, Gary Woodland, Paul Casey
  • Group 34 – 7:53 a.m. Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood, Thorbjorn Olesen
  • Group 35 – 8:04 a.m. Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Shubhankar Sharma
  • Group 44 – 9:48 a.m. Justin Rose, Tony Finau, Lucas Bjerregaard
  • Group 45 – 9:59 a.m. Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley
  • Group 46 – 10:10 a.m. Woods, Matt Wallace, Patrick Reed

Woods played two full and one partial practice rounds this week. He has never played Royal Portrush competitively and may or may not have been stiffed by Koepka in his attempt to get some inside knowledge from Koepka’s caddie and Portrush native Ricky Elliott.

Woods didn’t touch a club for more than two weeks after his T-21 finish at Pebble Beach in the U.S. Open and has not played in competition since the Open ended more than a month ago. He’s played only 10 rounds of pro golf since his historic victory at the Masters in April. Woods sits one victory shy from Sam Snead’s record of 82 PGA Tour wins.

For McIlroy, this Open Championship carries both the weight of a major – something he has not won since the 2014 PGA Championship – and of a return to his homeland.

Royal Portrush was re-designed over an 18-month period especially for this tournament and it will be a course stuffed with spectators, an overwhelming amount who likely cannot wait for native son McIlroy to grab his second Claret Jug.

World No. 1 Koepka tries to close out the best 16-month run in major championship success since Woods in 2000-01. A victory at Royal Portrush would give Koepka his fifth major title overall and his fourth in the past 14 months.

BRITISH OPEN: Staff Predictions | Photos | Full TV Info

SPORTS FANSHere are some of the best credit cards available

For weekend reference, Northern Ireland is five hours ahead of Eastern Time in the United States. So a 1 p.m. tee time at Royal Portrush means play begins at 8 a.m. on the East Coast.

Follow all the action right here. And hop onto our live Tiger Tracker once Woods begins play at 10:10 a.m. ET alongside Patrick Reed and Matt Wallace.

2019 British Open Round 1 Update:

6:21 a.m.: Through 12 holes, Phil Mickelson has fallen back to +4 overall.

5:28 a.m.: SHOCKER! McIlroy begins the British Open with two major hooks off the first tee. He two-putts the green and stumbles off the par-4, first hole with an quadruple-bogey 8. He is 7 shots off the lead after one hole.

2019 British Open Twitter Stream

2019 British Open Tee Times

Thursday – Round 1

Group & Tee Time (ET) Players
1 – 1:35 a.m. Darren Clarke, James Sugrue (a), Charley Hoffman
2 – 1:46 a.m. Emiliano Grillo, Sung Kang, Thomas Thurloway (a)
3 – 1:57 a.m. Andy Sullivan, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Alexander Levy
4 – 2:08 a.m. Chan Kim,  Zander Lombard, Brandon Wu (a)
5 – 2:19 a.m. Richard Sterne, Romain Langasque, Matthias Schmid (a)
6 – 2:30 a.m. Padraig Harrington, Matthew Fitzpatrick Andrew Putnam
7 – 2:41 a.m. Bubba Watson, Eddie Pepperell, Rafa Cabrera-Bello
8 – 2:52 a.m. Phil Mickelson, Shane Lowry, Branden Grace
9 – 3:03 a.m. Alex Noren, Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Sam Locke
10 – 3:14 a.m. Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, C.T. Pan
11 – 3:25 a.m. Ryan Palmer, Andrea Pavan, Dylan Frittelli
12 – 3:36 a.m. Kyle Stanley, Robert MacIntyre, Andrew ‘Beef’ Johnston
13 – 3:47 a.m. Mikko Korhonen, Oliver Wilson, Curtis Knipes (a)
14 – 4:03 a.m. Ian Poulter, Sungjae Im, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
15 – 4:14 a.m. Henrik Stenson, Xander Schauffele, Graeme McDowell
16 – 4:25 a.m. Haotong Li, Russell Knox, Bernd Weisberger
17 – 4:36 p.m Jason Kokrak, Connor Syme, Austin Connelly
18 – 4:47 p.m Zach Johnson, David Duval, Corey Conners
19 – 4:58 a.m. Francesco Molinari, Bryson DeChambeau, Adam Scott
20 – 5:09 a.m. Rory McIlroy, Gary Woodland, Paul Casey
21 – 5:20 a.m. Rickie Fowler, Kevin Kisner, Hideki Matsuyama
22 – 5:31 a.m. Jim Furyk, Si-Woo Kim, Jimmy Walker
23 – 5:42 a.m. Luke Lista, Alexander Bjork, Paul Waring
24 – 5:53 a.m. Shugo Imahira, Nate Lashley, Benjamin Herbert
25 – 6:04 a.m. Mikumu Horikawa, Callum Shinkwin, Garrick Porteous
26 – 6:15 a.m. Prom Messawat, Matthew Baldwin, Jack Senior
27 – 6:36 a.m. Tom Lehman, Joaquin Niemann, Miguel Angel Jimenez
28 – 6:47 a.m. Byeong Hun An, Jorge Campillo, Chris Wood
29 – 6:58 a.m. Joel Dahmen, Adri Arnaus, Dimitrios Papadatos
30 – 7:09 a.m. Stewart Cink, Rory Sabbatini, Innchoon Hwang
31 – 7:20 a.m. Erik Van Rooyen, Kurt Kitayama, Jake McLeod
32 – 7:31 a.m. Ryan Fox, Shaun Norris, Dongkyu Jang
33 – 7:42 a.m. Tyrrell Hatton, Keith Mitchell, Thomas Pieters
34 – 7:53 a.m. Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood, Thorbjorn Olesen
35 – 8:04 a.m. Brooks Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Shubhankar Sharma
36 – 8:15 a.m. Billy Horschel, Jazz Janewattananond, Aaron Wise
37 – 8:26 a.m. Jordan Spieth, Marc Leishman, Danny Willett
38 – 8:37 a.m. Cameron Smith, Adam Hadwin, David Lipsky
39 – 8:48 a.m. Paul Lawrie, Chez Reavie, Justin Harding
40 – 9:04 a.m. Takumi Kanaya (a), Tom Lewis, Brandon Stone
41 – 9:15 a.m. Lucas Glover, Joost Luiten, Nino Bertasio
42 – 9:26 a.m. Ernie Els, J.B. Holmes, Abraham Ancer
43 – 9:37 a.m. Brandt Snedeker, Lee Westwood, Brian Harman
44 – 9:48 a.m. Justin Rose, Tony Finau, Lucas Bjerregaard
45 – 9:59 a.m. Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley
46 – 10:10 a.m. Tiger Woods, Matt Wallace, Patrick Reed
47 – 10:21 a.m. Jon Rahm, Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar
48 – 10:32 a.m. Kevin Streelman, Doc Redman, Robert Rock
49 – 10:43 a.m. Adrian Otaegui, Yuta Ikeda, Isidro Benitez
50 – 10:54 a.m. Patton Kizzire, Sang Hyun Park, Yuki Inamori
51 – 11:05 a.m. Yoshinori Fujimoto, Doyeob Mun, Andrew Wilson
52 – 11:16 a.m. Gunn Charoenkul, Yosuke Asaji, Ashton Turner

2019 British Open TV, Streaming Info

(All Times Eastern)

Thursday, July 18

Golf Channel
Midnight-1:30 a.m.: Midnight Drive
1:30 a.m.-4 p.m.:  The Open – First Round
4-5 p.m.: Golf Central Live
NBC Sports Network
11-11:30 p.m.: The Men in Blazers
4 a.m. – 3 p.m.: Marquee Groups 1
4 a.m. – 3 p.m.: Marquee Groups 2
4 a.m. – 2 p.m.: Three-Hole Channel

Round 1 Hole Locations

Hole locations for the first round of the Open Championship. (The Open Championship)

© 2009-2017 SendtoNews Video Inc.
All video content, images, logos, and trademarks presented on this site are the property of their respective owners.